Hamilton: I want a competitive car

Posted: June 15, 2011 in Canada, June, News
Tags: , , ,

Hamilton all smiles before his Canada horror show

Lewis Hamilton has vowed to stay at McLaren for as long as they can provide him with a competitive car.

The 2008 world champion’s future has been the subject of much speculation all season.

And Hamilton on Saturday was seen talking to Red Bull team principal Christian Horner in Montreal.

But the 26 year-old has rubbished speculation of him moving to the Milton Keynes-based outfit when his contract expires at the end of next season.

“In terms of where I am, again I’m just very fortunate to be a part of McLaren,” said Hamilton at a promotional event with NASCAR’s Tony Stewart at Watkins Glen.

“So as long as we have the car that can do the job, then there will be no reason to leave.

“It’s one of the best teams there with great history, and we’ve now a car which is capable of winning, as my team-mate showed at the weekend.”

Sunday’s crash is unlikely to have helped relations between Hamilton and Jenson Button within the team.

The incident on lap nine forced Hamilton to retire with a broken rear suspension after he struck the pit-lane wall trying to overtake the eventual race winner.

He is now 76 points behind championship leader Sebastian Vettel.

But there was no indication of any ill-feeling after the race as Hamilton praised Button for his drive.

Hamilton – a race-winner in China back in April – is confident McLaren can produce a title-winning car – although his 2008 triumph is the team’s only title since 1999.

“We are the only other team that has won Grand Prix this year, so I don’t see why you’d particularly want to move when you have the most competitive car.

“I’ve grown up wanting to be world champion and I’ve definitely not achieved all that I want to,” he said.

Hamilton said it was not unusual to talk to other teams during the course of a weekend.

“I know Stefano Domenicali and we chat all the time, with Norbert Haug we chat all the time, and Christian.

“When I was going from Formula Three to GP2 I had a meeting with Christian when he was running the Red Bull team back in Formula 3000 I think it was.

“But I know everyone, so I speak to all the people during the weekend.”

Horner said last Thursday that Red Bull were trying to tie-up Mark Webber’s contract for 2012.

But the Australian appeared somewhat less keen. Webber said: “We’ll see how we go. There’s a bit to go yet in the summer. [I’ll] keep thinking.”

Leave a Reply

