Canadian Race Quotes I

Posted: June 14, 2011 in Canada, Quotes, Race
Tags: , , ,

McLaren
Jenson Button (1st)

“That was the best victory of my career, and today is therefore a very special day for me. I fought my way from last to first to win the race, and I overtook the cars in front of me on the track.

“It was an amazing victory – I don’t think it could have been any better, especially after Monte-Carlo where we thought we had a win in the bag but were then disappointed at the very end. I was a little bit fortunate today when Sebastian (Vettel) made a mistake on the last lap, but I think we deserved that bit of luck!

“As far as the incident with Lewis is concerned, I couldn’t see a thing behind me except a blur of Vodafone rocket-red, but that could have been my rear wing: obviously, it’s the same colour as Lewis’s car.

“Now, I just want to enjoy this moment; it’s been a long time coming and it couldn’t have been much sweeter.”

Hamilton tips Webber into a spin on lap five

Lewis Hamilton (DNF)
“First of all, I have to offer my heartfelt congratulations to Jenson – he drove an absolutely incredible race and thoroughly deserved this victory. It was an utterly fantastic performance, from a truly great driver.

“Although the conditions were very tricky from the start, I had pretty good grip and I was doing the best I could to keep the car on the track; I think I had pretty good race pace, and I didn’t have any particular problems. I touched Mark’s (Webber) car after he braked a bit early into the first corner. He left me enough room, but I touched the inside kerb and understeered into him.

After I fell back behind Jenson, he outbraked himself into the final chicane and got a poor exit, so I was able to get a good run on him. It felt to me like I was halfway alongside him down the pits straight – but, as he probably hadn’t spotted me, he continued moving across on the racing line.There was no room for me, so I hit the wall. Of course, I don’t think it was intentional: I know Jenson well enough and I know he wouldn’t do that. He’s a good guy.”

 Martin Whitmarsh, McLaren team principal
“The 2011 Canadian Grand Prix may well be remembered as one of the most eventful, exciting and suspenseful races in Formula One history. In fact I think I’ve heard the word ‘unbelievable’ shouted at me by joyful colleagues about a hundred times this afternoon, and in truth Jenson’s drive was exactly that: absolutely unbelievable. Other adjectives that spring to mind are ‘heroic’, ‘majestic’, ‘magnificent’ and ‘superb’!”

Red Bull
Sebastian Vettel (2nd)

”Of course I’m disappointed. I think it was a very difficult race from start to finish and we led every single lap, apart from the last one, or part of the last one. I think I was probably too conservative when I was in the lead after the last safety car.

 “I made a mistake. It’s down to me, I locked up the rear a little bit and what you have to do then is open up the car and go a bit straighter, there’s only one line and I ended up in the wet, so it was quite easy for him to pass.

“At the moment – when you have it in your hands and you give it away – then it’s not the sweetest feeling. But, I think all in all, it was a good race for us today.”

Mark Webber (3rd)
“It was an eventful race! I had a few people to pass after the break; it wasn’t too hard until the dry line appeared on the racing line and it was slippery off line. When you have experienced guys like Michael (Schumacher) and Nick (Heidfeld) to pass, well those guys know what they’re doing, so it becomes even trickier.

“It was a pretty good fight with Michael, we both wanted the same bit of track when we were braking for the chicane, but when JB arrived, he was absolutely flying. Today’s result means plenty of points for the team and it’s a good result, so I’m pretty happy with that.”

Christian Horner, Red Bull team principal
“After a long afternoon and to have pretty much led every lap of the race, it was obviously frustrating to lose the Grand Prix almost in sight of the chequered flag. Unfortunately Sebastian made a rare mistake on a day when a lot of drivers made a lot of mistakes. He paid a price, but second is still a very good result and far from disastrous.”

Schumacher was chasing first podium since 2006

Mercedes
Michael Schumacher (4th)

“I am leaving this race with one eye laughing and one eye crying, as I am not sure if I should be excited or sad about it.

“Having been in second place towards the end, I would obviously have loved to finish there and be on the podium again. But even if it did not work out in the very end, we can be happy about the result and the big fight we put in.”

Nico Rosberg (11th)
“It was a very demanding race this afternoon. In general, everything was okay with my car and, at the end, I was up there in the points but I made a mistake at the hairpin on lap 66. I was trying to overtake Kobayashi and was very close behind him in turn 10; he slowed when I didn’t expect it, I hit the back of him and damaged my front wing.”

 Ross Brawn, Mercedes GP team principal
” It was a thrilling race and Michael drove beautifully in the second part; he did a strong job on the intermediates and the option tyres, but was unable to hold off Jenson and Mark’s faster cars, particularly when they had the use of DRS. Even so, it was a fantastic drive to climb eight places and finish fourth.”

Norbert Haug, vice-president, Mercedes-Benz Motorsport
“This wasn’t just a Grand Prix – it was like an action movie. This was motor racing at its best.”

Renault
Vitaly Petrov (5th)

“Today, the conditions became very difficult after a few laps and stopping the race was the right decision. There was absolutely no grip and the car was aquaplaning everywhere.

“I really feel we could have finished on the podium today. That said, I welcome these extra points, and I think we’re back on track after a couple of difficult races. A big thank you to the team for the work this weekend.”

Nick Heidfeld (DNF)
“Naturally, the main disappointment for me is that I didn’t finish the race. I was behind Kamui (Kobayashi) and then something happened. He slowed down suddenly and I hit the back of him, which resulted in my front wing coming off and me going off the track. I was on track for fifth and some good points, so it’s frustrating.”

Leave a Reply

