Canadian Qualifying Quotes II

Posted: June 12, 2011 in Canada, Qualifying, Quotes
Tags: , , , ,

Kobayashi on the limit

Sauber
Kamui Kobayashi (13th, Q2 – 1m 15.285s)

“It is a difficult weekend for us. My biggest problem here is driving over the kerbs. I have an overall lack of grip and find it really tricky to get to the limit with the car.”

Pedro de la Rosa (17th, Q1 – 1m 15.587s)
“It is obviously a very eventful time for me. Yesterday morning I didn’t expect to sit in a racing car, and this morning I actually didn’t expect a lot from qualifying. It is not easy to familiarise yourself with the car and all the new buttons in such a short space of time.

“Of course, the crash I had this morning didn’t help either. I lost the car and then also a bit of confidence goes. I am very happy the team managed to repair the car and I want to thank them.”

Peter Sauber, Sauber team principal
“First of all I’d like to thank the mechanics who have had a lot of work this weekend, and did a fantastic job to get two cars ready for qualifying. Kamui finished qualifying in P13, and that’s the same position he had in Monaco where he was able to deliver a great result. Considering Pedro only learned yesterday after one o’clock that he was going to race this weekend, he did an excellent job making it into Q2. Congratulations!”

Toro Rosso
Sebastien Buemi (15th, Q2 – 1m 15.334s)

“I would say we are more or less where I thought we would be, fighting with the Williams and the Saubers. My best lap was pretty good, but I’m a bit disappointed that half a tenth of a second cost me two places.

“Now we must wait and see what happens tomorrow, because I think our race pace is a bit better than what we could produce in qualifying today.”

Jaime Alguersuari (18th, Q1 – 1m 16.294s)
“I have been struggling under braking and, after the morning, we changed something on the set-up to try and improve the car for qualifying. It looked a bit more positive, but I locked up the brakes and flat-spotted the front left tyre which limited my performance on that lap.

“It’s important that we try and learn from this session, to see why we are struggling so that we can improve our qualifying performance in Valencia in two weeks time and give me a better feeling from the car.”

Giorgio Ascanelli, Toro Rosso technical director
“The result of qualifying is pretty much where I expected us to be, although maybe a little bit better than expected with Sebastien.

“With Jaime, we are still struggling, as we have not found a way of giving him a car in which he can trust.

“I am hoping for a dry race tomorrow, because if it rains, I think we will be at a disadvantage.”

Lotus
Jarno Trulli (19th, Q1 – 1m 16.745s)

“I’m pleased with the performance today. The gap to the guys ahead keeps coming down and I think with the rain tomorrow it’s going to be an eventful race, and hopefully we’ll be in a position to take advantage.”

Heikki Kovalainen (20th, Q1 – 1m 16.786s)
“A pretty good session for me today. The car felt fine and the strategy worked out as we wanted it to so I think we did what we set out to. Little by little we keep on improving and I’m looking forward to the race tomorrow – it’s going to be eventful and I think what we’ve shown all season is that we can fight with the guys ahead, so let’s see what happens.”

Tony Fernandes, Lotus team principal
“I am very happy with today. From my perspective that was the best qualifying of my short career in Formula One because we showed that we did not have to rely on other teams making mistakes or using different tyre strategies to finish the session with a very small gap to making it into Q2 on merit.

“That is a clear sign that the hard work being put in across the team is paying dividends as we are genuinely edging ever closer to the midfield.”

Mike Gascoyne, Lotus chief technical officer
“That was a good qualifying session for us and overall it has been a very solid weekend so far for the whole team.”

HRT
Vitantonio Liuzzi (21st, Q1 – 1m 18.424)

“It will be an interesting Sunday. We showed today that we have made a step forward; we’re ahead of our closest competitor so we’ve got an interesting race ahead.

“For me the 107 percent rule is not a problem anymore but, for sure, in this kind of circuit where KERS and DRS make a difference, we weren’t that far off it but it’s not something that should worry us for the future, we must just focus on beating our rivals.”

Narain Karthikeyan (23rd, Q1 – 1m 18.574)
“I struggled with the warm up on my first set of tyres, something changed in the car from yesterday to today.

“ I’ve made some progress in the last few races, I’m only a tenth away from Tonio so, after five and a half years out of Formula One, it is a good feeling to be so close.”

Colin Kolles, HRT team principal
“I think it has been proven that we have made a step forward, we qualified ahead of the Virgins and the gap with Lotus is smaller than in previous races and it could’ve been even smaller.

“For tomorrow we don’t know the weather conditions, the forecast is rain but this could change. If it rains it will be a crazy grand prix, it could turn out to be a lottery which traditionally favours the smaller teams.”

Virgin
Timo Glock (22nd, Q1 – 1m 18.537s)

“Quite a tough day for us I think. We tried to concentrate on getting a setup for wet conditions as the forecast was strongly indicating rain and so our downforce level is more suitable for wet conditions than for dry. The predictions are still uncertain but we hope this will work in our favour. We just have to see what tomorrow brings.”

Jerome D’Ambrosio (Q1 – 1m 19.414s)
“It’s been a tough 24 hours since my crash yesterday – both for me and the team.

“The car felt completely different to yesterday and clearly Timo’s time is more representative of what we should have achieved in qualifying. I am very appreciative of the fact that the stewards have permitted me to race and I’m now focusing on tomorrow.”

Leave a Reply

